Pulling from memory

Happy belated July 4th everyone! I was going to make cupcakes and swirl them in red, white, and blue, but then the lazy fairy came for a visit….so ya. BUT I did manage to cook SOMETHING. Maybe I’ll try a double post next week to make up for the 4th. Something simple…maybe a drink? I mean summer is in it’s peak, so I am sure ya’ll are needing something to drink and cooldown with. This recipe was me trying to remember how my mom made this one chicken, and it ended up just being completely different, but totally tasty!

Ingredients:
2 tbs Cornstarch
3 tbs Hoisin Sauce
2 tbs Thai Chili Sauce
1 tbs Garlic
4 Chicken Breasts
2 tbs Dry Sherry
1 tbs Olive Oil

I added a splash here and there so….You will want to do taste tests to adjusts.

Method:
1. Cut the chicken into cubes
2. Mix the sherry and cornstarch (it will be a little thick) and place the chicken into the mix
3. Let the chicken marinade for at least 1 hour (at least that’s what I did)
4. Heat the oil in a pan
5. Take the chicken out of the marinade and put it into the pan
6. Cook the chicken until it is white
7. Add the hoisin sauce, chili sauce, and garlic

Notes:
I was searching for a recipe that my mom use to make all the time, but I was pleasantly surprised with the results. I am still trying to figure out how my mom use to make this hoisin sauce chicken, and if you have any ideas on how I should try a new recipe with hoisin sauce let me know. I know that there was oyster sauce involved, which is where my recipe took a turn because I couldn’t find any. HAHA. Anyway, Happy NOMNOMS!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

