Making broccoli tastier

Broccoli is probably one of my favorite veggies. I eat it a lot (steamed, stir fried, raw…etc), and I like to find new ways to serve it. I stumbledupon this site a few weeks ago and instantly wanted to try this. The only problem was that I didn’t have any broccoli stocked, so I couldn’t. School basically piled up on me and I couldn’t hit the store to get any….sad days. Anyway, I finally got around to getting the ingredients (along with a few others)! You HAVE¬† to try this!

http://www.staceysnacksonline.com/2011/01/broccoli-bites-for-kids.html

Ingredients:

16 oz. package of frozen chopped broccoli, thawed and drained of liquid (I used fresh steamed broccoli)
1 1/2 cup of grated cheddar cheese
3 eggs
1 cup of seasoned Italian breadcrumbs

Method:

Mix all the ingredients together in a large bowl.

With your hands, form small patties and lay on a parchment lined baking sheet.

Bake at 375F for 25 minutes, turning the patties after the first 15 minutes.

Notes:

I hate that I keep missing instructions…but at least everything turns out well :D. I didn’t see the part that says turn over after the first 15 minutes. I just baked it on one side for about 35 minutes. I also put 2 cups of cheese and a 1 and 1/4 cup of breadcrumbs. It may be different for you, but just feel the consistency of the mixture and see if you think stick enough to make patties. I added a touch of garlic powder, but the seasoned breadcrumbs are already pretty nicely season. Anyway, these little patties were really awesome. I like that I keep running into these recipes that just need everything to be mixed together with no order. What can I say, except I love simplicity :D. Alright, get those stoves fired up, ovens preheated. and oil heated to the perfect temperature! Happy cooking!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

