Tasty Cardiac Arrest

My deep fryer has gotten more use now than it has ever. I thank my blog for that :D. I stumbled this recipe a while back, but made them recently when my friend said that she had never had them before. I told her that Hooter’s has the best fried pickles, but she refuses to believe that they have good food. I’ve only been once and it was because a friend of mine said that they had the best fried pickles. It had to be proven! 😀 Plus, I use to be picky, but now that I think about it I only get to live once, so I should try my hardest to eat as many types of food as possible. Expand my palette to the fullest. Even if it makes me fat. 😛 I’ll just need to start exercising more. Anyway, I am gonna hafta say that these are so much better. Here’s the recipe:

http://misadventuresofmrsb.com/?p=1186

Ingredients:

2 eggs
1 cup milk
1/2 teaspoon hot pepper sauce
3/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 jar dill pickles (I used 24 oz, you could use more)
1 cup vegetable oil for deep frying (Or more – I made sure I had 2 -3 inches of oil in the pan)
Method:

Pour oil in pan or fryer.  Heat to 365 degrees F.  (I used my meat thermometer up to 300 degrees, then dropped bits of batter into oil to check how it fried.  Maybe not the most scientific way to go about it, but it worked)

While oil is heating, pour pickles into a strainer and drain liquid.  Lay pickle spears on paper towels and dry as thoroughly as possible.

In a large bowl, combine wet ingredients with flour and spices.  Drop a bit of batter into oil once heated and taste to test spices, adjusting batter as needed.

Dip spears into batter, making sure to coat thoroughly.  Carefully drop into hot oil and fry until golden, making sure to turn over to ensure even frying.  This will only take a few minutes at a time.

Carefully remove fried pickles from oil and drain on paper towels.  Immediately sprinkle with additional salt and pepper, to taste.

Notes:

I loved this batter. Seriously. I even did the fried mash potatoes again and used this batter. It is just sooo good! I do have some problems making the skin crisp, but either way it was YUM. Okay, I am going to get away from fried stuff after this post I swear! Hopefully I will stumble some healthy stuff. Happy cooking!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

PS: I am thinking of adding a page for other stumbles that I come upon that I think are interesting….thoughts?

Leave a Reply

