Queso!

A couple of weeks back my dad decided that he would buy 5 bags of guacamole chips… Now, I don’t know if you buy things in bulk, but I find this ridiculous. He gets mad at me when I don’t eat them either, but I mean getting through a bag takes weeks! Anyway, I have decided to humor his little shopping spree by making queso to entice the eating of chips. Apparently, this recipe is the FAMOUS ROTEL CHEESE DIP. Hrmm… We’ll see about that! Take it to the recipe:

http://www.texmex.net/Rotel/cheesdip.htm

Ingredients:

1 lb. pasteurized processed cheese spread, (Velveeta), cut into 1″ cubes
1 can (10 oz.) Diced or Whole RO*TEL Tomatoes & Green Chilies

Directions:
In a saucepan, combine ingredients; stir over low heat until cheese spread is melted.
Serve with tortilla chips, crackers, or vegetables.

Microwave: Place ingredients in a covered casserole.  Microwave on HIGH  until
cheese spread is melted, about 5 minutes, stirring once.

Notes:

Well, as you have seen in the past I like my things spicy, HOWEVER, I realize that I do entertain friends sometimes that can’t take the heat. So, I bought some canned jalapenos and put them in a separate bowl for my eating delight. I also threw in a few pinches of garlic powder, julio’s seasoning, and a pack of bacon bits.  I had half an onion left over from an earlier recipe so I said “What the heck” and chopped about half of that up and threw that in too. These went great with the guac chips and I am pretty sure they’d go great with any tortilla/corn chip. It was pretty good, but I had a problem with it being kind of runny…anyone else or that just me? Anyway, to counter this I added some slices of cheese and a tbs of cornstarch. Also famous? I guess it may be for easy cooking, but it definitely could use some tweaks :D. Happy cooking!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

PS: If you have any recipes/websites for refried bean dip…that would be great! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

