The Breakfast of Champions

Alright, I realize that I am posting this at dinner time, but who doesn’t like breakfast for dinner sometimes. PLUS, it is a casserole…isn’t that a term connected with dinner? Maybe? Or maybe I just associate that together for some reason. Anyway, this recipe is a copycat recipe (aka the best recipe to build off of). If any of you have been to Cracker Barrel, then you have probably had their hash brown casserole. As I stayed up WAY to late stumbling online, I came across this:

http://www.food.com/recipe/cracker-barrels-hash-browns-casserole-copycat-15242

Ingredients:

2 lbs frozen hash browns

1/2 cup margarine or 1/2 cup butter, melted

1 (10 1/4 ounce) can cream of chicken soup

1 pint sour cream

1/2 cup onion, peeled and chopped

2 cups cheddar cheese, grated

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

Method:

Preheat oven to 350°F and spray an 11 x 14 baking dish with cooking spray.

Mix the above ingredients together, place in prepared pan and bake for 45 minutes or until brown on top.

Notes:

As mentioned before, I love fried things. I really hope I start stumbling onto more healthy recipes otherwise I’m gonna end up like a balloon! I roughly chopped 2 potatoes and added them into the mix too. Also, I had some leftover green onions so I through that in too. The reason why I say copycat recipes are the best is because the recipe has been compared to the “real thing”, then you can try adding your own twist to improve it :D. Thanks for reading and happy cooking!

PS: Over 200 views! I appreciate you all so much and I hope you keep on reading!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

