A lesson from Popo

Today’s recipe doesn’t come from a website, it comes from my Popo (grandma). I was craving sushi one day and my Popo told me that if I wanted it she would teach me how to make it, just in case I ever wanted it again then I would have the ability to make it. She didn’t really have direct measurements, so I will try my best to estimate (I haven’t tried to make them myself just yet).

Ingredients for rice:

3 cups of short grain rice

3 cups of water

1/2 cup of rice vinegar

2 Tbsp sugar

a few pinches of salt

Ingredients for sushi:

3 stalks of celery, sliced thinly length wise

3 carrots, sliced length thinly wise

a package of sushi seaweed (nori)

2-3 eggs, omelet style

any meat you want (we used dried pork)…since we used dry pork the amount of meat will differ…we used about 1 cup

sushi rolling mat

Method:

So you want to wash the rice and cook it as directed. While the rice is steaming you can get the vinegar solution ready. You want to mix the rice vinegar, sugar, and salt in a small sauce pan. You just want to heat it so that the sugar and salt dissolve. After the rice is ready move it into a mixing bowl and stir in the solution gently (you don’t want smushed rice). Let the rice cool and you can start making the sushi. First lay the mat down put a sheet of nori down, then put rice on about 2/3 of it. You want to leave space at the top so that when you roll it doesn’t all come out. Place a few celery and carrot sticks at the base where you put your rice. Put your meat on top and begin rolling upward. You want to roll and then scrutch it so that the roll is tight. When you have a roll feel free to slice it (dipping a sharp knife in water can help the knife keep from sticking).

Notes:

I love cooking with my Popo. She is a link to my mom and reminds me a lot of her. The recipe was really good and I can’t wait to try other types of sushi. If any of my measurements are off or can be made better please let me know. Thanks and happy cooking.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Leave a Reply

