Asian pasta salad, Asian pasta salad….Pasta salad?

So, if you don’t get the header it stems from a Margaret Cho joke that I performed in high school. It got a lot of laughs, and it definitely isn’t meant to offend :D. Anyway, I really like salad… I mean if I get a hankerin’ you better believe I’m gonna get me some. I have this sald dressing called “Asian Toasted Sesame”, and I basically can’t eat any other dressing with salad now. I use to be a huge fan of ranch (maybe that’s the Texan in me), but now I’m completely bias to the sesame dressing. Okay, enough of the rambling…..blah blah blah :P. Only kidding, Today’s recipe comes from:

http://www.kraftrecipes.com/recipes/easy-asian-noodle-salad-104844.aspx

Although…I pretty much did a 180 on the recipe and used things I found in my kitchen cupboard.

Asian Noodle (Pasta) Salad
INGREDIENTS:
8 oz. thin spaghetti, cooked, drained and cooled
2 cups  diagonally cut snow peas
1 can (11 oz.) mandarin oranges, drained
1 medium  red pepper, thinly sliced
1/3 cup diagonally sliced green onions
1/2 cup  KRAFT Asian Toasted Sesame Dressing
8 lettuce leaves

Spaghetti with peas, oranges, peppers, onions and dressing. Cover and refrigerate, if desired.

Serve over lettuce.

NOTES:
Sprinkle with 2 Tbsp. chopped cilantro before serving.
Substitute
Prepare as directed, using KRAFT Light Asian Toasted Sesame Dressing.
Well that’s the stuff from the website at least. What did I use?
INGREDIENTS:
2 cups dry pasta shells (I think it comes out to be around 3 cups cooked)
1 bag of frozen vegetables of choice
1 red pepper, thinly sliced
1-2 stems of green onion, diced
1 cup of fresh spinach
1 cup of Romaine lettuce
3/4 cup of Asian Toasted Sesame dressing
So instead of serving the pasta over the lettuce I just added them into the pasta mix. Also, I added some salt (just to your taste preference) and as you can see my dressing is much more than what they said to do. You can mix in whatever veggies you like, I went with a medley (YUM)! You can eat it right after you finish cooking the pasta and mixing everything in or chill it. I think next time I will add some sort of meat. Good luck and happy cooking!
PS: if you make anything I’d LOVE to hear from you.
Leave a Reply

