Healthy…ish?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Okay. First off I want to thank my friend Erin for my new banner! It is cute and stylish. 😀 THANKS ERIN!

Now for something that will distract me from class.

Today’s recipe comes from:

http://www.ivillage.com/strawberry-and-raspberry-granita/3-r-312332

Now why do I say healthy…ish? Because it is basically the recipe is frozen strawberries and raspberries (yay healthy) and a CUP OF CONFECTIONERS SUGAR aka powder sugar, icing sugar, etc (YAY UNHEALTHY!)

Ingredients:

1 cup confectioners’ sugar

1 tbsp fresh lemon juice

1.5 cups fresh/frozen raspberries (unsweetened)

1.5 fresh/frozen hulled strawberries (unsweetened)

2.3 cup of boiling water

Directions:

1. combine sugar, lemon juice, and water into a blender. Pulse this mixture until the sugar dissolves.

2. Add berries and puree.

3. Place into a shallow freezer-safe plastic container and freeze for two hours. You will want to remove it from the freezer ever two hours and break it apart with a fork to make it slushy.

Notes:

Apparently this is suppose for several months in the the freezer, but it is best served immediately. (It lasted for 4 days at my house :P)

Okay, so what did I think of this recipe? It was good! I did tweak it however, like every good cook should do. (following recipes is good! but you can always put your own little twist on things). I put about 3/4 cup of sugar instead of a whole cup and added about 3 more tsp of lemon juice into the mixture. My family doesn’t like things as sweet as most people (probably cause they aren’t from the States). Another thing I added was laziness. What..that’s not an ingredient? Okay okay okay…but seriously. Obviously I haven’t told you, but I had knee surgery a couple of weeks back. I am NOT going to get up every two hours to break up the ice. I just let it freeze. I still think it tasted fine though. I just scooped it out like sherbet, which I thought this basically was…for those who are going to google the difference lemme post it here:

Granita – Sugar-syrup base plus pureed fruit (or coffee or wine). No butterfat. Similar texture to shaved ice. Can be made without an ice cream machine.

Sorbet – Similar to granita, but whipped, which breaks up the ice crystals and makes the texture lighter than granita. No butterfat. Made in an ice cream machine.

Sherbet – Sugar-syrup base plus pureed fruit, and a bit of butterfat (no more than 2%).  Made in an ice cream machine.

Anyway, with the dash of laziness I didn’t put it in a shallow container, but quite the opposite. I have selective reading and just read freezer safe, which ziplock comes to mind :D. Other than that this was a great dish for Valentine’s and I hope you enjoy it too. Happy cooking… or blending and freezing rather.

 

 

PS: okay so laziness wasn’t the ONLY thing I tried to add. Vodka worked really well too (but make sure if you are going to make this into something like a bellini that you strain out the seeds through a sieve)

PPS: I’ll show you how to make the chocolate bowls sometime soon

Leave a Reply

